Monday, February 27, 2017

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys

By: A stack of nightmare writers!
Location: FIC SLA
Genre: Short stories of paranormal horror.


For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, American Horror Story and The Walking Dead comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best thriller and horror writers in YA
Stefan Bachmann, Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, A. G. Howard, Jay Kristoff, Marie Lu, Jonathan Maberry, Danielle Paige, Carrie Ryan, Megan Shepherd, Nova Ren Suma, McCormick Templeman, April Genevieve Tucholke, Cat Winters.. now that is a formible list of scariness.


 “It took strength to be quiet. It took strength to be kind. It took strength to let other people's cruelty bounce right off of you.”
― April Genevieve Tucholke,
Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

A host of the sharpest young adult authors come together in this collection of terrifying tales and psychological thrillers. Each author draws from a mix of literature, film, television, and music to create something new and fresh and unsettling. Clever readers will love teasing out the references and can satisfy their curiosity at the end of each tale, where the inspiration is revealed. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From blood horror, to the supernatural, to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for anyone looking for an absolute thrill.- Cover explanation

The Fall of Butterflies

By: Andrea Portes
Location: FIC POR
Genre: We Were Liars meets Looking for Alaska

“So you're like… living in the margins, making your case in the margins, trying to make a difference maybe, from the margins...but nobody really wants to listen to you. To see you.
'Cause you’re not the story they want to tell.”
― Andrea Portes, The Fall of Butterflies  


This is the story of Willa and Remy, two girls who become amazing friends while at an ivy league high school. Willa has a mother that is famous for her brain, while her father is just a regular guy. Willa grew up with her father so he had a rather normal upbringing, except for when it came to what Willa did academically. That is when her mother kicked into gear and did her best to dictate what happen. Remy is the type of girl with an infectious personality, everyone just wants to be friends with her. Remy does Willa a favor when she befriends her and allows her into her crazy world. Each girl has their own demons to fight and this friendship really good for either of them

"The story is a very dark-underbelly-of-the-young-and-rich type of thing. This girl from Iowa--apparently that just means she's from nowhere??--catches the attention of another girl whose mere presence seems to inspire awe from everyone around her. Girl-from-Iowa clings to this new and exciting friendship and feels oh so lucky and happier, but then the awe-inspiring girl says "hey, you want to know my dark secret" and starts showing all her cracks and faults as she introduces girl-from-Iowa to a rich, yet empty way of living. Okay, there's much more to it than that. Think of The Great Gatsby.
Also, I got this subtle "be grateful for what you have" message and I adored that!

- Kaitlin, goodreads.com

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Star Wars Graphics

30054876By:

Location: NF 791.43 but probably it will never be there, it will on some table or under a beanbag

Genre: Star Wars nerds- charts, maps, infographics and plans!

This book is stunning..
How fast is a Satr destroyer?
How big is a death star?
What is the lifespan of a wookie?
How many people can fit inside the Cantina?
Includes all you need to know about the ships, characters, locations and movie moments from the first six films in the franchise.
Image result for starwars GRAPHICS book





Highly Illogical Behaviour

By: John Corey Whaley
29231988Location: FIC WHA
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary LGBGT

I watched The Room last weekend, it got me thinking about how I would do life if I was isolated, if I was totally alone, how would I keep it real. It was not a nice thought path....

In this book- aloneless is a choice, being isolated is the plan.

Sixteen year old Solomon has agoraphobia. He hasn't left his house in three years, which is fine by him. At home, he is the master of his own kingdom--even if his kingdom doesn't extend outside of the house.

Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to go to a top tier psychiatry program. She'll do anything to get in.

When Lisa finds out about Solomon's solitary existence, she comes up with a plan sure to net her a scholarship: befriend Solomon. Treat his condition. And write a paper on her findings. To earn Solomon's trust, Lisa begins letting him into her life, introducing him to her boyfriend Clark, and telling him her secrets. Soon, Solomon begins to open up and expand his universe. But all three teens have grown uncomfortably close, and when their facades fall down, their friendships threaten to collapse as well.



Wednesday, February 22, 2017

A study in Charlotte

 By:Brittany Cavallaro
Location: FIC CAV
Genre: Mystery

This book is a goody- it is a novel about Sherlock Holmes great great great grandaughter who has inherited not only Sherlock’s genius but also his volatile temperament.It is also about a rugby star called Jamie Watson- of course! Its about a murder mystery that needs solving and of course there is a romance!

Check it our here and get the book from our library

Thursday, February 16, 2017

I know this to be true

Image result for 9780473361341By: Famous Kiwis
Location: 920 SAL
Genre: Famous Kiwis

I love this book- it speaks of us, our people doing our stuff in our place.

Truth
Wisdom
Beauty
and other stuff
that matters
for sixty
New Zealanders
in the
middle of
interesting
lives!

Chelsea Winter, Steve Hanson, Mahe Drysdale, Valerie Adams,Rhys darby, we know these names, but do we know who they really are and what are the drivers in their lives. It may surprise you to read what they have to say!
Then there are famous Kiwis I dont know about- Zoe Bell, Sir George Fistonich, Joel Tobeck- who are these movers and shalers that have helped define us and we dont even know about them!

This book is a classic coffee table book- or in our place- library beanbag book.

Read, by inspired and challenged to go and do exploits and peruse the talents and giftings you have been blessed to be given!


Shadowshaper

By: Daniel Jose Older
Location: FIC OLD
Genre:  Paranormal Fantasy
Series: Shadowshaper#1

PAINT A MURAL
START A BATTLE
CHANGE THE WORLD.

Rick Riordan reviewed this book far better than I can.. 

"Im a big fan of Older's adult urban fantasy series Bone Street Rumba, so I was curious to see how his style would translate into a young adult novel. The answer is beautifully.

Sierra Santiago is a typical Brooklyn teenager just starting her summer vacation. She plans to hang out with her friends, have some fun, and finish painting her dragon mural on the wall of an old half-finished high-rise development called the Tower, which otherwise is an unwelcome eyesore in the neighborhood. Sierra's summer plans go sideways when she notices other murals in the neighborhood beginning to change. The colors fade. The faces cry and change expression. Her grandfather, debilitated from a stroke, becomes lucid just long enough to warn her: She is in danger. Her whole family and the neighborhood itself will be destroyed. She must find a boy named Robbie, and together they must finish her mural quickly.

Sierra doesn't understand any of this, but she tracks down Robbie at a friends' pool party. Before they can even talk, a strange pale man like a zombie invades the party and chases after them, demanding to know where Lucera is -- someone Sierra has never heard of.

Soon Sierra learns she is part of the community of shadowshapers -- those who can call upon the spirits of their ancestors and other local ghosts to take form in art, music or even storytelling. With a quick scribble of chalk, you can form a stick figure that comes alive to fight for you, or a pair of eyes that flies off into the night and spies for you. Imagine what you could do with a meticulously painted wall mural of dragons or skeletons . . .

Unfortunately, someone is after the shadowshapers. Someone wants to take all their power for himself, and if he can't, he will destroy them. Sierra and Robbie are faced with an enemy who can bind and distort spirits, and even create horrible zombie-like corpuscles from the murdered bodies of people Sierra used to know. (GROSS!) If Sierra doesn't learn to use her powers quickly, everything she loves will be obliterated.

Older's novel is a real page-turner. The pacing is perfect with short, well-crafted chapters. The characters immediately grab you. Sierra has a wonderful cast of friends to help her, and Older's teenage Brooklyn dialogue is so spot-on and punchy that reading it is like breathing fresh oxygen. I am tempted to think Older is a shadowshaper, because he definitely has the ability to channel spirits straight into the writing and bring them to life.

Bring on the sequel, please!


Wednesday, February 15, 2017

The Passage Series



By: Justin Cronin
Location: FIC CRO
Genre: Horror

 A epic story about a world destroyed by a virus that creates vampires!!! 


The Passage: Something is coming

The Twelve: Fear the Dark

The  City of Mirrors:  Its Time

Miss Bigge asked me to get these books into the library- so I have, even though I hate horror. I am never going to read them, but you might! So I have borrowed a few reviews from Goodreads for you!


In"The Passage "and" The Twelve, "Justin Cronin brilliantly imagined the fall of civilization and humanity s desperate fight to survive. Now all is quiet on the horizon but does silence promise the nightmare s end or the second coming of unspeakable darkness? At last, this bestselling epic races to its breathtaking finale- The City of Mirrors
"The world we knew is gone. What world will rise in its place?"
The Twelve have been destroyed and the hundred-year reign of darkness that descended upon the world has ended. The survivors are stepping outside their walls, determined to build society anew and daring to dream of a hopeful future.
But far from them, in a dead metropolis, he waits: Zero. The First. Father of the Twelve. The anguish that shattered his human life haunts him, and the hatred spawned by his transformation burns bright. His fury will be quenched only when he destroys Amy humanity s only hope, the Girl from Nowhere who grew up to rise against him.
One last time light and dark will clash, and at last Amy and her friends will know their fate.


“All his life he had wanted to be known by just one person. That’s what love was, he decided. Love was being known.  
...those stunningly layered and well drawn characters who have captured our imagination, made us root for them, had us holding our breath, or hiding under the duvet or upon reading a particuarly thrilling moment clutching our heads in dismay and concern. The relationships created and lost, the world they live in an ever changing landscape, so intimately imagined you live there with them, time lost, time gained, the whole wonderful, creative, genuinely absorbing, intensely insane reading MADNESS of it, - LIZ